Butter Chicken Curry with Cauliflower and Pineapple

September 11, 2013 § 3 Comments

Spicy, sweet, authentic Indian Butter Chicken. Topped with fresh chopped cilantro, tart pineapple and sweet , juicy raisins… don’t forget a drizzle of Sirachi. A must try.

032

This is one of those meals that I look forward to, it’s, a staple as I like to call it. I saw this packet at Walmart and decided to give it a try. I was shocked the first time I made it. It was unbelievable! I was expecting the worst, usually store-bought curry sauces are awful. Not this one. It was like I was cooking butter chicken from scratch in India. I know what you’re thinking though… “What are you doing? Ingredients out of a package is processed food with soybean and/or canola oils and a bunch of ingredients you can’t pronounce!”  Guess what?? Not this one! This Kitchens of India Butter Chicken Curry Paste is 100% natural and no preservatives. That is huge.

005

I call myself the Bare Natural Mommy which means I try to be as natural and, well, from scratch as I possibly can. This is as close as it gets to being from scratch.

Check out the ingredients list.

006

“Ingredients: Tomato Paste, Water, Sunflower Oil, Spices, Onion, Garlic, Gram Flour, Sugar, Salt, Skimmed Milk Powder, Fresh Ginger, Melon Seed, Cashew & Spice Extract (Paprika Oleoresin).”

No soybean oil, nothing I can’t pronounce. 100% natural and NO preservatives. You add the oils/fats, and add the protein and vegetable. It’s a win-win if you ask me. This dish is super flavorful, quick, easy, and it’s a one pan meal. Even better.

015

I know, you just want to get a fork and dig in, right? Make sure you get a bite with everything on it; chicken, pineapple, cilantro, cauliflower AND a raisin for full effect! 🙂

What do you do with the packet?

Inside it is the most delicious Butter chicken paste and trust me, it tastes nothing like those jarred ones in the grocery store. This one tastes authentic, its is bursting with true Indian flavors. And you get to control the ingredients you add. I have also tried the Chicken Curry Paste. Also fantastic with more of a hint of cinnamon. Here is a link to the Kitchens of India website so you can check out their products. Let me know if you have tried one I haven’t!

What do you do?

Grab a vegetable.

001

I always use cauliflower. My daughter loves cauliflower and I love it with the curry. It goes so well and I like it even when it’s overcooked.

Pick a protein. I have used chicken 90 percent of the time with this dish, and shrimp the rest.  I love shrimp with curry. If you are feeding a big family, do both!

Chop up some green onions… and cilantro. But you need ONE more key ingredient. Can you guess??

010tt

 TURMERIC!! I put this spice in purely for the health benefits. There are CRAZY good things about this yellow wonder spice.

  • the main component in turmeric, curcumin, appears to block an enzyme that promotes head and neck cancer
  • is powerful antioxidant that fights cancer-causing free radicals
  • is one of the most potent, natural anti-inflammatories there is
  • is an effective treatment for IBD (inflammatory bowel disease)
  • helps treat cystic fibrosis
  • inhibits cancer cell growth and metastases
  • turmeric and cauliflower work together to fight prostate cancer

Source: http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=78

Butter Chicken Curry with Cauliflower and Pineapple

Serves: 4

Prep time: 10 min

Cook time: 30 min

Ingredients:

Butter Chicken Curry Paste

2 – 3 chicken breasts or 500g shrimp

1 head of cauliflower

2 green onions, chopped

1 tablespoon turmeric

salt and pepper

handful of chopped cilantro

handful of pineapple

handful of golden raisins

Directions: 1. Cook your chicken pieces in a skillet in oil until no longer pink and nicely browned. 2. Add 3 tablespoons butter. 3. Add packet mix and add water according to the measurement on package. 4. Add cauliflower and coat gently with sauce. 5. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until cauliflower is cooked. 6. Sprinkle with turmeric and stir. 7. GARNISH. Garnish with cilantro, pineapple, raisins and your favorite hot sauce. 7. Serve with Naan bread and rice or just by itself.

035

§ 3 Responses to Butter Chicken Curry with Cauliflower and Pineapple

I would love to hear what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Butter Chicken Curry with Cauliflower and Pineapple at Bare Natural Mommy.

meta

