Why Bother with Natural and Chemical-Free?

August 26, 2013 § 1 Comment

“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales. “ Albert Einstein

I never used to be like this…. trying to be as natural and chemical-free as possible. There was a time where I never went a day without coating my hair in hairspray. My sister can attest to that. 🙂 But after having a child and being a stay at home mom, things changed. I wanted to make sure I was putting the best foods into my daughter, and that’s how it all started. It was little things. Like I didn’t like the idea of feeding her crackers as a snack. I wanted her to like vegetables and eat lots of fruits. And not choose unhealthy, processed foods when given a choice. Cleaning my floors with vinegar also make me happy, knowing that when my 3-year-old picks up food off the floor and puts it in her mouth, I don’t have a sick feeling in my stomach thinking about all the chemicals she just ingested. It’s just the dirt I have to worry about. 😉

IMG_00000471 (2)

Before I had kids I was always one of those people who were like “Oh come on, so you lose a little sleep, how hard can it be?”. I was also one of those people who before I had kids who couldn’t understand why the parents couldn’t control their kids in a restaurant or in a grocery store. You never fully understand what it’s like to have a child until you have one.Having a child COMPLETELY changed me, and that is an understatement. Never in my life have I encountered something so hard, so frustrating, yet so rewarding all at the same time. They say that the love a child is like none other, well, you don’t really truly understand that until you have one of your own.

My girl Kayden, who is now 3, is what changed my life for the better. It was hard in the beginning though. I was an extremely sleep deprived mommy who tried to do her best. I fed my baby bottled, non-organic baby food from the store. Nothing homemade. Rice cereal was her first food. Those foods, in all fairness, are said to be perfectly acceptable first foods, but if I could, and who knows I still may, do it all over again,  I would do it differently because of what I know now. I have followed a blog called Wellness Mama and she has opened my eyes to a whole new world of feeding babies and children. Here is a link to her thoughts on baby’s first foods.  Did you know that egg yolk is now being recommended as baby’s first food? Not rice cereal. White rice cereal is a refined carbohydrate, a group of highly processed nutritionally devoid foods that we are told as adults to avoid. So why would we start our babies first foods that we as adults are supposed to avoid? Highly refined carbohydrates contribute to Diabetes Type 1.  They spike insulin levels.  And promote excess fat. That is not really what they tell you at the doctor’s office or common knowledge at the play groups.

I would love to say that I feed my child nothing but un-processed, whole and organic food all made from scratch. In an ideal world where I had endless money and time, sure, I would love to make that happen. I am a stay at home mom, so I do have time, but do I want to spend every second in the kitchen prepping meals? No, and I can’t. I take my daughter to the park, I go to play groups and library hours, and do the best I can. I believe in the 80/20 rule. I try to make sure 80 percent of the food she eats is un-processed, sugar-free, artificial colors and preservative free and hopefully less than 20 percent is the rest. I do, however,  try to stay completely away from artificial colors and dyes. Those scare me. A lot.

Sleep

I never knew how hard it was to sleep train a baby and in actuality, I never even knew that you had to. You know the old saying “sleeping like a baby”? Well, little did I know that you had to actually train them to do that. Because “sleeping like a baby” is really like waking up every hour wanting to be rocked or soothed back to sleep by mommy. I feel like after having my child, my sleep will never be the same as am the lightest sleeper in the world now. Oh, and if you ever have a child, those video monitors are the best investment you will ever make. For piece of mind, for your sanity, everything. I could never go without now and think it’s just wrong to not be able to see your baby/child while they are sleeping! I never knew that being a mom was so consuming in every way. Every which way I turn, I feel like my sole purpose is to make sure my daughter is safe and happy. It is an incredible feeling, being responsible for her in every way, but also terrifying!

The World of Toys

images

Princess Cadence, Twilight Sparkle, Princess Celestia, Fluttershy, Rainbow Dash, Rarity, Apple Jack and the Cutie Mark Crusaders…. If you have a girl, you know what I’m talking about. Having a child means re-living every part of your childhood. It feels like I enjoy playing ponies way more now than I did when I was a kid myself. I see how excited my Kayden gets when Auntie brings over a new pony packet. Her energy is so contagious. Her excitement about the little things makes me appreciate the little things. As an adult, I now look forward to tracking down glow-in-the-dark stars on the weekend at the dollar store, or a well-made park that is safe, or finding a Lalaloopsy doll that we have looked everywhere for, or downloading “The Equestria Girls”  My Little Pony movie.  Anyone seen that yet?? So good!

Discipline

It seems that just as you get through one phase with your child, you enter another. Having just gotten over terrible twos, I finally breathed a sigh of relief only to be welcomed to the bratty threes. When “no” is an answer to everything and her stubbornness is maddening.  Her favorite saying right now when she doesn’t want to do something is “just not”. As a parent, I have learned the true meaning of the word “patience”. But that’s not to say it’s easy and I always follow through. Yelling… ugh, I hate yelling. I really try very hard not to yell but I am not perfect and sometimes, it just feels like those words just come shooting out of your mouth. Everyday I try to do better than the last. Or at least learn from what does not work. My husband and I sure have different ideas on raising a child and that makes it hard but ultimately we have the same goal; to make sure Kayden grows up healthy, happy, kind and considerate of others and successful in whatever she chooses to do.

040My Kayden is a work in progress, as I am I. I am learning everyday and as any mother knows you do the best you can! Thanks for learning a little on how I got here and my inspiration for a healthy, tastier life! 🙂

Resources:

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/12/20/get-the-white-out-of-babys-first-foods.aspx

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Why Bother with Natural and Chemical-Free?

I would love to hear what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why Bother with Natural and Chemical-Free? at Bare Natural Mommy.

meta

