Purple Basil Bruschetta

August 21, 2013 § 3 Comments

Garlic, olive oil, tomatoes, basil, and more garlic… 🙂

025

Bruschetta. Actually pronounced “bru-sket-ta”, is an antipasto from Italy. I know, I’ve been saying it wrong too. It’s much more fun to say “brush-etta”. If I could pick any place in the world to eat and live, it would be Italy. Wine, fresh cheese, olive oil, olives, sourdough, mortadella… those are my absolute favorites.  

I grew up with bruschetta, my mom always served this appetizer when we had guests over. It is super easy to do ahead which I love because a 3-year-old doesn’t always let you keep to your own schedule. The ingredients are simple. Tomato. Basil. Olive Oil. Garlic. Lots and lots of garlic. That’s what I remember about my mom’s bruschetta, I could still taste the garlic the next morning!

Health Benefits of Raw Garlic

imagesCAQO2X2M

I recently ran across a news article that said eating raw garlic twice a week can cut your risk of lung cancer in half! In half!? All the more reason to eat bruschetta. 🙂 Read the article here.  Other reasons to eat raw garlic include:

Acillin

The main active ingredient in garlic is called allicin. This powerful little component in garlic prevents atherosclerosis and prevents heart disease and stroke.

Allicin also reduces blood levels of both total cholesterol and “bad” cholesterol.

Antioxidants

Garlic contains a super high amount of antioxidants. Antioxidants = protection against free radical damage in the body.

Immunity

Garlic boosts your immune system. Whenever I think I am getting sick, I cut up a couple of cloves of garlic and swallow them in pieces.

Garlic is a natural blood thinner.

Back to by bruschetta….

Lets get to it. Grab all your ingredients.

007

Olive oil, tomatoes, garlic

Hehe. I had to laugh, my daughter wanted to point out a tomato for you. 🙂

I am a huge fan of flavored olive oils, they are all the rage right now. This particular olive oil shown is flavored with shallots. I got it from a place called Oliv Tasting Room in Saskatoon. They have every flavored olive oil and balsamic vinegar you could imagine. Chocolate balsamic? They have it. Blood Orange Olive Oil? They have it. The ingredients are simple, which means you are can find them fresh too.

Grab some basil. Here is a picture of my purple basil plant in my garden. If you don’t have purple, green will suffice.

016

Purple basil

Sadly, no tomatoes yet in my garden. Saskatchewan growing season is tricky.

Chop, chop, chop!

009

Toss all ingredients into a bowl and mix gently.

011

You can do this a couple of hours ahead too, it will give the flavors a chance to meld into one another.

When your guests arrive, pop the crostinis into the oven to toast. If you don’t have crostinis, any type of bun cut in half or bread will do toasted. I often use leftover garlic bread that I’ve frozen. Super easy, and that way leftovers don’t go to waste. And you get even more garlicky goodness.

“Bru-sket-ta” is served!

039

Purple Basil Bruschetta

Serves: 4-6

Prep time: 5 min

Cooking time: 10 min

Ingredients:

2 or 3 garlic gloves, minced or pressed

4 ripe tomatoes, finely chopped

8 basil leaves, washed and chopped

1/4 cup olive oil

extra for drizzling

salt and pepper to taste

parsley for garnish

6 – 8 crostinis or garlic bread slices

Preparation:

Combine garlic, basil, tomatoes and olive into a bowl and mix gently.

Add salt and pepper to taste. Let sit in fridge until guess arrive and take out to warm to room temperature.

Toast crostinis in 350 degree oven for 10 minutes, careful not to burn.

Spoon tomato mixture on top of crostinis and drizzle extra olive oil on top. Sprinkle of sea salt on top with a sprig of parsley for garnish.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Purple Basil Bruschetta

I would love to hear what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Purple Basil Bruschetta at Bare Natural Mommy.

meta

