Are You Drinking Too Much Water?

August 16, 2013 § 2 Comments

“Make sure to drink 6 – 8 glasses of water a day!”

1297328604568_ORIGINALm

We’ve all heard it, been told that, and probably most of us try to abide by that. But is it really necessary?? I was always the one drinking the water,  I thought I was doing the right thing by keeping myself hydrated, flushing out toxins and toting around my plastic stainless steel water bottle all the while giving my husband disapproving looks as he gulped down fluid only when his parched throat screams at him to stop what he is doing and start guzzling.  But then I stumbled across an article that made me stop and cast my water bottle to the side. You can drink too much water. There is such a thing as being over-hydrated. Did you know that drinking too much water actually lowers your metabolism? Who wants that? Definitely not me.

Signs you are over-hydrated:

  • You pee during the night
  • You have cold hands and feet
  • Your urine is clear
  • You get anxiety attacks

In all honesty, I had no idea that I was doing the wrong thing by drinking 8 glasses of water a day. It wasn’t until this post from the Cheeseslave came up in my inbox. After reading it, I thought, hey, that makes sense. The change was immediate! No more peeing at night, hurray! I can make it all the way usually until 530 in the morning when before I was up at least 2 times in the night to pee. I now sleep SOLID. I no longer am cold all the time, in fact I’m the one now telling my husband to turn down the heat and walking around the house in winter in shorts. I drink when I am thirsty. Listen to your body! 🙂

Read the article here. Let me know what you think and if you try it let me know if you noticed any changes!

Coming up next week:

Cowboy Stampedin’ Chili. I have perfected chili and can’t wait to share my secret ingredient.

Purple Basil Bruschetta. Did you know consuming raw garlic can cut your risk of lung in half? More on that next week. 😉

Have a great weekend!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Are You Drinking Too Much Water?

  • 01dd0g says:

    Interesting alternative view on water, I’ll check it out.

    Did you know:

    • There are nearly 1 billion people in the world that don’t have clean, safe water.
    • The women and children that collect water spend approximately 40 billion hours getting it.
    • This detracts from their ability to do other work, or get an education.
    • It takes $20 to supply one of these people with a clean water supply.
    • Each dollar spent provides an economic return of $12.
    • Not least because of the drop in medical care and infant mortality.
    • Can you spare a single dollar for this campaign to bring clean water to 50,000 people?
    • That’s less than a third of the price of a cup of coffee.
    • All money goes to providing water not to admin costs or profit.

    See http://my.charitywater.org/run-old-dog

    If you can’t spare a single dollar, please pass this message on to others that might.

I would love to hear what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Are You Drinking Too Much Water? at Bare Natural Mommy.

meta

